Stuff My Sisters Will Like

To Jenny, Katie and Laura, From Their Brother, Victor

The Genre of Flash Fiction November 13, 2015

Filed under: Funny,Neat,Stuff — Fr. Victor Feltes @ 8:00 am

The urban legend goes that Earnest Hemingway was lunching with friends at a restaurant. He bet the table ten dollars each that he could craft an entire story in just six words. After the pot was assembled, Hemingway wrote six words on a napkin, passed it around the table, and collected his winnings. The story:

For sale: baby shoes, never worn.

I was reminded of this tale the other day when I came across  on Twitter. He crafts flash fiction stories with extreme brevity of 140 characters.

Since I lack the ability to develop characters, sustain a plot, and be interesting for extended periods of time, I myself have written some super short stories. I link to them for your enjoyment:

 

2 Responses to “The Genre of Flash Fiction”


Leave a Reply

