Stuff My Sisters Will Like

To Jenny, Katie and Laura, From Their Brother, Victor

Other Things Jesus Said January 23, 2014

Filed under: Catholicism,History,Neat,Religion,Stuff — Fr. Victor Feltes @ 8:00 am

Did you know that some of the things Jesus said on earth were not included in the Gospels? The Scriptures themselves indicate this. There were “many other things which Jesus did; were every one of  them to be written, I suppose that the world itself could not contain the books that would be written.” (John 21:24-25) And we see St. Paul quoting Jesus saying something that the Gospel writers did not include: “Keep in mind the words of the Lord Jesus who himself said, ‘It is more blessed to give than to receive.’” (Acts 20:35)

The Gnostic Gospels place many words in Jesus’ mouth (one to three centuries after the fact) in support of their peculiar theologies, but a number of other (quite possibly) authentic sayings of Jesus come down to us through the Early Church Fathers. These sayings are known as “Agrapha” (Greek for “unwritten ones.”) For example:
St. Justin Martyr:
“There shall be schisms and heresies.”
“In what things I apprehend you [take you by surprise], in those things I also will judge.”

St. Clement of Alexandria:
“My mystery is for me and for the sons of my house.”
“Ask for the great things, and the small shall be added to you.”
“Be approved moneychangers, disapproving some things, but holding fast that which is good

Origen:
“On account of the sick I was sick and on account of the hungry I was hungry and on account of the thirsty I was thirsty.”
“He that is near me is near the fire. He that is far from me is far from the kingdom.”

If you are truly interested in the sayings of Jesus–the most significant person who has ever lived–then make it a priority to pick a Gospel and read it, and then read them all.

 

Leave a Reply

