Stuff My Sisters Will Like

To Jenny, Katie and Laura, From Their Brother, Victor

7 Lessons from St. Thomas More in “A Man for All Seasons” June 22, 2013

Filed under: Catholicism,Movies,Neat,Politics,Religion,Stuff — Fr. Victor Feltes @ 8:00 am

1.  Politicians Should Not Ignore Their Private Consciences in Public Life

2.  Heresy is Not a Likeable Thing

3.  It is Better to be Good and Unknown than Famous and Wicked:

More: Why not be a teacher? You’d be a fine teacher, perhaps a great one.

Richard Rich: If I was, who would know it?

More: You, your pupils, your friends, God. Not a bad public, that.

4.  The Rule of Law is a Good Thing

5.  Always Obey Your Conscience:

The Duke of Norfolk: Oh confound all this. I’m not a scholar, I don’t know whether the marriage was lawful or not but– dammit, Thomas, look at these names! Why can’t you do as I did and come with us, for fellowship!

More: And when we die, and you are sent to heaven for doing your conscience, and I am sent to hell for not doing mine, will you come with me, for fellowship?

6.  The Law of Christ Supersedes the Laws of Men, and Christ’s Law is Love:

More: Since the Court has determined to condemn me, God knoweth how, I will now discharge my mind concerning the indictment and the King’s title. The indictment is grounded in an act of Parliament which is directly repugnant to the law of God, and his Holy Church, the Supreme Government of which no temporal person may by any law presume to take upon him. This was granted by the mouth of our Savior, Christ himself, to Saint Peter and the Bishops of Rome whilst He lived and was personally present here on earth. It is, therefore, insufficient in law to charge any Christian to obey it. And more to this, the immunity of the Church is promised both in Magna Carta and in the king’s own coronation oath… I am the king’s true subject, and I pray for him and all the realm. I do none harm. I say none harm. I think none harm. And if this be not enough to keep a man alive, then in good faith, I long not to live.

7.  A Short, Memorable Speech is Better than a Long, Forgettable One

 

Leave a Reply

